St James' Church, South Charton
South Charlton is a small hamlet of fewer than 30 houses, five miles north of Alnwick. Almost a mile away from the A1, it is framed by a varied and attractive landscape of moorland and rolling farmland and has a long, fascinating history. The earliest evidence of human activity is from prehistoric times, continuing through the turbulent border warfare of the middle ages to industrial and agricultural development in the 19th century.
In 1860, the Parish of South Charlton was created by Act of parliament. St James’ Church was built in 1862 to a design by James Deason, a London Architect, for Algernon, the 4th Duke of Northumberland at a cost of £2,720. It was built to an Early English style in local sandstone with steep Westmorland slate roofs. The Church is approached from the North and East sides but the Porch is on the South side of the Nave. The Vestry with an abandoned boiler room below adjoins the North side of the Chancel. A bell-cote surmounts the West gable of the Nave with crosses at the apex of the East gable and Chancel. The roof structure is formed with wagon vaulted timber trusses with stained timber boarding below the rafters. A prominent Harrison and Harrison organ occupies an arch recess in the North wall of the Chancel.
1st and 3rd Sunday of each month at 11am
Rev. Marion Penfold